Brian M. Levitt, Chair of the Board

Chair of the Board’s Message

In 2021, TD once again demonstrated the strength of our business and the resilience and talent of our people.

Through a year of continued uncertainty, the Bank supported the millions we serve, the communities in which we operate and the economies that depend on us. Our 90,000 colleagues lived our purpose and worked tirelessly to operate the Bank and deliver for all our stakeholders.

TD closed the year strong, with a clear focus on our customers and on the future. Through important and ongoing investments in technology and with the introduction of new capabilities, we further strengthened the Bank’s ability to serve customers’ changing needs. We also continued to invest in our communities through the TD Ready Commitment and contributed more than $125 million to support community recovery and promote a more sustainable and inclusive future. In October, we pledged to join the Net-Zero Banking Alliance to help unify efforts across our industry and foster broader global cooperation, building on the Climate Action Plan we announced in 2020.

The Bank’s reported earnings of $14.3 billion provided the means through which to make these important investments, while delivering a consistent dividend to shareholders and further strengthening our financial and capital positions. We also recognized the tremendous dedication and efforts of our people with a special one-time award of five TD shares for eligible non-executive colleagues, providing them with the opportunity to become owners of the Bank and share in our long-term growth.

As we close another year of change and progress, the Board of Directors thanks our Group President and CEO for his steady hand at the helm, and the Senior Executive Team for their exceptional leadership throughout 2021. Most importantly, we want to recognize the determination and hard work of our TD colleagues, who deliver legendary experiences every day with dedication and care.

We extend our appreciation to our shareholders for their ongoing support and thank our customers for the opportunity to serve them. We will continue to work every day to maintain your support and trust.

Brian M. Levitt

Brian M. Levitt
Chair of the Board


The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors as at December 2, 2021 is listed below. A full list of its committees and key committees’ responsibilities can be found on page 220. Our Proxy Circular for the 2022 Annual Meeting will set out the director candidates proposed for election at the meeting and additional information about each candidate including education, other public board memberships held in the past five years, areas of expertise, TD Committee membership, stock ownership, and attendance at Board and Committee meetings.

Cherie L. Brant
Partner, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP,
Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory, Ontario

Amy W. Brinkley
Consultant, AWB Consulting, LLC,
Charlotte, North Carolina

Brian C. Ferguson
Corporate Director, and former President and Chief Executive Officer, Cenovus Energy Inc.,
Calgary, Alberta

Colleen A. Goggins
Corporate Director, and retired Worldwide Chairman, Consumer Group, Johnson & Johnson,
Princeton, New Jersey

Jean-René Halde
Corporate Director, and retired President and Chief Executive Officer, Business Development Bank of Canada,
Saint-Laurent, Québec

David E. Kepler
Corporate Director, and retired Executive Vice President, The Dow Chemical Company,
Sanford, Michigan

Brian M. Levitt
Chair of the Board, The Toronto-Dominion Bank,
Kingston, Ontario

Alan N. MacGibbon
Corporate Director, and retired Managing Partner and Chief Executive of Deloitte LLP (Canada),
Oakville, Ontario

Karen E. Maidment
Corporate Director, and former Chief Financial and Administrative Officer, BMO Financial Group,
Cambridge, Ontario

Bharat B. Masrani
Group President and Chief Executive Officer, The Toronto-Dominion Bank,
Toronto, Ontario

Irene R. Miller
Chief Executive Officer, Akim, Inc.,
New York, New York

Nadir H. Mohamed
Corporate Director, and former President and Chief Executive Officer, Rogers Communications Inc.,
Toronto, Ontario

Claude Mongeau
Corporate Director, and former President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian National Railway Company,
Montreal, Québec

Joe Natale
Corporate Director, and former President and Chief Executive Officer, Rogers Communications Inc.,
Toronto, Ontario

S. Jane Rowe
Vice Chair, Investments, Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan Board,
Toronto, Ontario

Back to top